Pixelette Technologies

Chrome 91, an Update of Google Chrome, is Released for Safe Browsing

chrome
Read more about Chrome’s safe browsing mode

Chrome’s Enhanced Safe Browsing feature, which Google introduced a year ago, will detect suspicious downloads and extensions, Google announced Thursday. Users are accustomed to downloading malware into their systems unknowingly. It is more convenient for Google to prevent users from falling into the trap compared to spreading awareness. 

As a result, Google is now offering users additional security protections when installing extensions from the Chrome Web Store, notifying users if the extension can be trusted. Added security will alert users about the credibility of the extension they are about to install.

“Any expansions developed following the Chrome Web Store Developer Program Policies will be considered trusted by Enhanced Safe Browsing,” Google noted. 75% of add-ons on the platform are currently compliant, it said. But downloading an extension from an unknown source…Nah I don’t think that is a decision you’d want to make.

Enhanced Safe Browsing shares real-time data with Google Safe Browsing to prevent users from visiting dangerous sites. Additionally, Safe Browsing noted that integrating its blocklist API with its browser increased the number of malicious extensions that the browser deleted by 81%. The data shows that safe browsing is already restraining hackers from spreading malware into your system.

Chrome will also come with a new download protection feature that uses metadata about downloaded files to scan files for malware and give users the option to send their files to Google for a more in-depth analysis.

Google said:

“If you choose to send the file, Chrome will upload it to Google Safe Browsing, which will scan it using its static and dynamic analysis classifiers in real-time. After a short wait, if Safe Browsing determines the file is unsafe, Chrome will display a warning.”

Even though the file has been classified as potentially dangerous, users can still open it without scanning it. Upon scanning the downloaded file, Safe Browsing deletes the uploaded files from your account after a short time.

According to the company’s Chrome Privacy Whitepaper, it “logs the transferred data in its raw form” for all Safe Browsing requests for up to 30 days, after which only anonymous statistics will be retained.

Starting with the May 26 release of Chrome 91, the new features will be available. By going to Settings > Privacy and security > Security > Enhanced protection, users can turn on Enhanced Safe Browsing.

 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

SUBSCRIBE FOR NEWSLETTER

Topic(s) Of Interest

Social Share

Share this post with your friends, if you found our content interesting.

× How can we help you?
Pixelette Technologies Lead Generation - SEO - SMM - Web Development has 4.54 out of 5 stars 52 Reviews on ProvenExpert.com